1. Intro & recent photo

If you’re reading this it’s very likely that you already know me. But let’s do this anyway.

Let me start by saying that I don’t like talking about myself. I like talking about my opinions and ideas (and criticisms!) but I don’t like talking about myself.

I live in Korea. I was pretty done with the place when I left after two years in 2014, but life took some unplanned turns and coming back eventually became my best option.

Teaching is what makes me get up in the morning. And I’m quite good at it. I take my job seriously; even though I’m ‘just an English teacher’ I still take pride in my work and I get great feedback as a result. I’m also a Maths teacher, which earns me endless street cred whenever I casually throw it into conversation.

Because I want this post to get done but I also don’t know where to go from here (and I don’t want to end up doing a boring bio), I’m going with a template of sorts, and just filling in the answers.

 

25 things you might not know about me

 

  1. I’m happiest when I feel rested.
  2. … especially if it involves being with someone I like spending time with.
  3. I’ve always wanted to be content with my own decisions.
  4. My family and I have a very unique sense of humour.
  5. I was a terrible cook, before I moved out on my own. Now I’m mediocre.
  6. My first job was recording data in wool auctions.
  7. I could probably eat peanut butter every day.
  8. I stole my boyfriend’s heart 😉
  9. I was born on the same day as the moon landing (well, 15 years later).
  10. My all-time favorite film is So I Married an Axe Murderer.
  11. I do a pretty mean resting bitch face.
  12. I’m still mad about some things that were left unsaid.
  13. I met my husband in the future 🙂
  14. I always knew I wanted to teach.
  15. I’m not afraid to break away from the crowd and do my own thing.
  16. I make the best fellow people watcher in public places. I could do it for hours.
  17. I have almost no desire to “settle down”.
  18. I always cry when. Nope, I just always cry. I don’t need a reason.
  19. I’m a good judge of character.
  20. I spent the first 27+ years of my life living with my mom until I moved to Asia. Talk about the deep end!
  21. I wish my parents could see me in my day to day life here on the other side of the world.
  22. At 5, I was deeply in love with…no idea. You’ll have to ask my mom!
  23. I believe if everyone was less self-righteous and more kind the world would be a better place.
  24. I can’t stand judgement and intolerance.
  25. Whenever Independence Day is on, I’ll watch it.

So there you have it.

And now, the recent photo. This one was taken just last weekend at the Lotus Lantern Parade in Seoul. Participants in the parade will often hand out their lanterns to spectators. Being a foreigner sure helps here – makes one more noticeable. This was my 4th parade and I received lanterns every single time.

20160507_193320

Leave a comment